Some Mistakes Were Made (Hardcover)

Some Mistakes Were Made By Kristin Dwyer Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Bookshop Pickup
1 on hand, as of Aug 13 9:03pm
(YA-Realistic Fiction)

Description


Sarah Dessen meets Adam Silvera in the debut YA romance everyone is talking about!

“A breathtaking tour de force of angst and longing. Heartbreaking, painfully romantic, and deeply human.” —STEPHANIE GARBER, #1 bestselling author of Caraval

“A novel you can make yourself at home in, with characters so real it feels like you’ve known them for ages.” —JENNA EVANS WELCH, bestselling author of Love & Gelato

“This book comes with its own aching heartbeat. Be forewarned, it’s stronger than it looks.” —STACEY LEE, award-winning author of The Downstairs Girl

Ellis and Easton have been inseparable since childhood. But when a rash decision throws Ellis’s life—and her relationship with Easton—into chaos, she’s forced to move halfway across the country, far from everything she’s ever known.

Now Ellis hasn’t spoken to Easton in a year, and maybe it’s better that way; maybe eventually the Easton-shaped hole in her heart will heal.

But when Easton’s mom invites her home for a visit, Ellis finds herself tangled up in the web of heartache, betrayal, and anger she left behind . . . and with the boy she never stopped loving.

About the Author


Kristin Dwyer grew up under the California sun and prayed every day for a cloudy sky. Now Kristin and her spouse are currently raising their mischief-makers in the hills of North Carolina, where there is just the right amount of clouds. When she’s not writing books about people kissing, Kristin is a part-time hair model and full-time TSA PreCheck. One time a credible news outlet asked for her opinion on K-pop (it was the best day of her life). Please do not talk to her about your fandom; she will try to join.

Praise For…


“The slow-build romance is swoonworthy, and young adult fans of Colleen Hoover seeking emotional devastation and unforgettable characters will find much to enjoy here. A powerful tale of found family and first love.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Readers will desperately root for ­Ellis and Easton in this unforgettable romance. A perfectly emotional read for fans of Nicola Yoon and Becky Albertalli, this coming-of-age romance is one not to miss.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

"An emotionally layered and strikingly romantic debut."  — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A breathtaking tour de force of angst and longing. Heartbreaking, painfully romantic, and deeply human.” — Stephanie Garber, #1 bestselling author of Caraval

“Funny, romantic, and heartfelt. A stunning debut!” — Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Creatures 

"A novel you can make yourself at home in, with characters so real it feels like you’ve known them for ages. I loved the family dynamic, the slow burn, all of those gorgeous lines so clear and startling they lift off the page, and the way it made my heart slowly (but surely) shatter. This one will stick with you." — Jenna Evans Welch, New York Times bestselling author of Love & Gelato

"A deeply human story of first love, found family, and the heartbreak of losing them both. With vulnerable prose that is at turns achingly tender and others hilarious, readers will laugh through their tears. SOME MISTAKES WERE MADE is a profoundly honest exploration of identity, friendship and learning to let go. This is the kind of book you return to again and again."
New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young 

"SOME MISTAKES WERE MADE made me feel. Dwyer writes with such wit and honesty, I was at turns laughing out loud and then crying my eyes out. These characters will stay with me forever, and I'm only heartbroken there wasn't another chapter to devour." — Isabel Ibanez bestselling author of Woven in Moonlight

"This book comes with its own aching heartbeat. Be forewarned, it's stronger than it looks." — Stacey Lee, award winning author of LUCK OF THE TITANIC

“Beautiful, heartbreaking, and ultimately hopeful. This is a rare gift of a novel.” — Robyn Schneider, bestselling author of The Beginning of Everything

"SOME MISTAKES WERE MADE is a gorgeous meditation on shattered dreams and making amends, found family and loyalty and what it means to sacrifice for the people we love most.  Dwyer’s debut is brimming with hope and love amidst angst, longing, heartache, and the bittersweetness of growing up. It is tender and romantic, vulnerable and sincere, but it is never ever cheesy. I was rooting for Easton and Ellis from the very first page."
Ashley Woodfolk, acclaimed author of WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING and THE BEAUTY THAT REMAINS

"Some Mistakes Were Made is the angsty romance of my dreams. I wanted to linger in Kristin Dwyer’s beautiful prose forever and savor all the perfect, vivid details. But once I started this special book, I just couldn’t put it down!" — Elise Bryant, author of Happily Ever Afters

“Gorgeously romantic and compulsively readable. Some Mistakes Were Made and these flawed, unforgettable characters wrecked my heart and then repaired it, filling the cracks with hope and possibility. A captivating story of first love, first heartbreak, and the delicate beauty of second chances.” — Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow

"Dwyer's debut reaches into the complexities of family and societal pressure and draws out a one-of-a-kind narrative of the pain and passion of reuniting broken bonds. With vivid prose and heart-stopping romance, Some Mistakes Were Made is the powerful entry of a gorgeous new voice." — Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka, authors of Always Never Yours

"Some Mistakes Were Made is full of lyrical prose that weaves a story as gut-wrenching as a Sally Rooney novel while showcasing the vulnerability found in a Katie Cotugno book. You are holding in your hands the next big, bold, and beautiful thing in YA!" — Isabella Ogbolumani, Children's Bookseller & Events Coordinator, >Buffalo Street Books



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063088535
ISBN-10: 0063088533
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: May 10th, 2022
Pages: 384
Language: English