SBCs for Rising 4th - 8th Graders

2021 Summer Book Clubs for Rising 4th - 8th Graders

Keep your love of great books alive over the summer by joining us for a beautiful set of stories and discussions as we spend the summer with five of our favorite 2022 Nutmeg Nominees!  Be sure to REGISTER for the sessions in advance via Eventbrite.  Tickets for each session are $10; if you are registering more than one participant in the same family, there is a 25% discount per ticket.

If would like to purchase the book, we do request that you purchase it through us, and that you bring your copy with you to the discussion!  You can order these great titles through the links below and pick them up curbside in advance or that day...  

See you soon!  :)

~ pia ledina, the book lady

p.s.  We know that it's summer - you don't need to come to ALL of the sessions, but kiddos that participate in four out of the five will receive a little gift certificate from us to keep the reading love flowing!

Event date: 
Wednesday, June 30, 2021 - 4:15pm to 5:00pm
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 - 4:15pm to 5:00pm
Wednesday, July 28, 2021 - 4:15pm to 5:00pm
Wednesday, August 11, 2021 - 4:15pm to 5:00pm
Tuesday, August 24, 2021 - 4:15pm to 5:00pm
Event address: 
477 Main Street
Monroe, CT 06468
Clean Getaway Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781984893000
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - January 5th, 2021

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a timely middle-grade road-trip story through landmarks of the Civil Rights movement and the map they lay for contemporary race relations.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:
Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.


Wink Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781984815163
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - January 12th, 2021

A hilarious and heartwrenching story about surviving middle school--and an unthinkable diagnosis--while embracing life's weirdness.


Planet Earth Is Blue Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780525646600
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - May 5th, 2020

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

A heartrending and hopeful story about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish.


Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781101997284
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - July 9th, 2019

One boy's search for his father leads him to Puerto Rico in this moving middle-grade novel, for fans of Ghost and See You in the Cosmos.

Marcus Vega is six feet tall, 180 pounds, and the owner of a premature mustache. When you look like this and you're only in the eighth grade, you're both a threat and a target.


Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus, 1 Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9781454932994
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sterling Children's Books - March 5th, 2019

"Aven is a perky, hilarious, and inspiring protagonist whose attitude and humor will linger even after the last page has turned." --School Library Journal (Starred review)