SBCs for Rising 1st - 3rd Graders

2021 Summer Book Clubs for Rising 1 - 3 Graders

Keep your love of great books alive over the summer by joining us for a beautiful set of read-alouds and discussions as we spend the summer with five of our favorite 2022 Nutmeg Nominees!  Be sure to REGISTER for the sessions in advance via Eventbrite.  Tickets for each session are $10; if you are registering more than one participant in the same family, there is a 25% discount per ticket.

If would like to purchase the book, we do request that you purchase it through us, and that you bring your copy with you to the discussion!  You can order these great titles through the links below and pick them up curbside in advance or that day...  

See you soon!  :)

~ pia ledina, the book lady

p.s.  We know that it's summer - you don't need to come to ALL of the sessions, but kiddos that participate in four out of the five will receive a little gift certificate from us to keep the reading love flowing!

 

Event date: 
Tuesday, June 29, 2021 - 2:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, July 13, 2021 - 2:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, July 27, 2021 - 2:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, August 10, 2021 - 2:00pm to 2:30pm
Tuesday, August 24, 2021 - 2:00pm to 2:30pm
Event address: 
477 Main Street
Monroe, CT
MONROE, CT 06468
The Proudest Blue: A Story of Hijab and Family Cover Image
By Ibtihaj Muhammad, Hatem Aly (Illustrator), S. K. Ali (With)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316519007
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 10th, 2019

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! A powerful, vibrantly illustrated story about the first day of school--and two sisters on one's first day of hijab--by Olympic medalist and social justice activist Ibtihaj Muhammad.  With her new backpack and light-up shoes, Faizah knows the first day of school is going to be special.


Dinosaur Lady: The Daring Discoveries of Mary Anning, the First Paleontologist Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781728209517
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Explore - July 7th, 2020

A beautifully illustrated picture book biography of Mary Anning that will enlighten children about the discovery of the dinosaurs and the importance of female scientists, perfect for fans of The Girl Who Thought in Pictures


Moth Cover Image
By Isabel Thomas, Daniel Egnéus (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547600205
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - June 25th, 2019

Powerful and visually spectacular, Moth is the remarkable evolution story that captures the struggle of animal survival against the background of an evolving human world in a unique and atmospheric introduction to Darwin's theory of Natural Selection.

“This is a story of light and dark…”


We Are Water Protectors Cover Image
By Carole Lindstrom, Michaela Goade (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250203557
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - March 17th, 2020

Winner of the 2021 Caldecott Medal
#1 New York Times Bestseller

Inspired by the many Indigenous-led movements across North America, We Are Water Protectors issues an urgent rallying cry to safeguard the Earth’s water from harm and corruption
a bold and lyrical picture book written by Carole Lindstrom and vibrantly illustrated by Michaela Goade.


My Papi Has a Motorcycle Cover Image
By Isabel Quintero, Zeke Peña (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525553410
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kokila - May 14th, 2019

A celebration of the love between a father and daughter, and of a vibrant immigrant neighborhood, by an award-winning author and illustrator duo.

When Daisy Ramona zooms around her neighborhood with her papi on his motorcycle, she sees the people and places she's always known. She also sees a community that is rapidly changing around her.